Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So because I cant see, its hard to do things that others take for granted in here. Like, for example, going to the dining room to eat. I’ve been avoiding it mostly. However this morning one of the nurses asked a girl in my ward to walk me down to the dining room. And she did. I feel embarrassed walking with someone. Like I am a burden. Like they have better things to be doing than leading me and showing me where to go. But I complied and went with her. I didnt eat breakfast though. I just drank a cup of tea and took my morning medication. The same girl brought me back to my bed afterwords again. Then I asked if I could have a shower and the nurse asked me if I needed someone or could I manage on my own. I told her if she showed me where it was I thought I’d be able to manage by myself. And I did. Usually I wouldnt feel embarrassed by the fact that I cant see, but sometimes, it gets to me. Like this morning it did. I just want to be normal like everyone else on the unit.
Carol a

nne

