Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

First of all let me tell you all about the contact I had with Mark, our OT. He called me on Tuesday when I was in patient. He didnt know I’d gone in. So I decided to wait until I was discharged to call him back. I knew there was a chance he’d find out I was in, since he’s part of the overall mental health team. Anyway, he never did find out. Today when I got home I called him back. We spoke about the course I want to do. The one with national learning network thats computer based. There is one big obstacle in my way now to doing it and that is transport. The organisation who is currently funding taxi’s for us said that they will only give a 500 euro grant for this course because of the level of qualification that it is at which is fetach level 5. I know the qualification doesnt mean much to many of you reading this. But anyway its 10 euro per day to and from so thats 20 euro a day to get there and back home. So that doesnt amount to much. So Mark said to speak to Karen the social worker about it on Monday. He said if Karen isnt able to do anything that he’ll look at other options as he knows people in the past who’ve gotten transport allowances, or other means of funding for taxis. The other thing he wanted to talk to me about is that he said the psychologist from the school where the course is run out of contacted him. I knew she was doing that, I’d given my permission for her to contact both Mark the OT and our therapist Eileen. So he told her I wanted to keep my mental health needs separate from my educational needs and she agreed that this was probably a good thing. So in a few weeks when she comes back from holidays we’re going to meet and make a plan of what will happen if we become unstable and what action the school needs to take if that happens.

On another front, I am meeting with Karen dr Barrys social worker on Monday. I talked to Dr Barry today and we discussed the installing of CCTV cameras in our home to make it more secure. Karen is still looking into that. On monday she should havemore news about it. I also need to discuss with her about possibly having someone come in to my home in the evenings and be with me for a couple of hours, if someone isnt available to stay overnight. I highly doubt someone is going to be approved to stay over, the funding just isnt available. But we shall see. I told Dr Barry that Karen needs to be given the gold start for the hardest working social worker because she is so fabulous and awesome and very dilligent and gets the job done.
Carol anne

