Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This morning i went to the basement club, the drop in centre that i go to sometimes, that is for people with mental health difficulties. I had to go because i was doing some training so that i could help out with the administration. Once i did the training, i would be eligible to do some volunteer work. The training lasted for two hours. In that two hours we learned things like what to do when taking calls and messages, how to enter data from the sign in sheets, and answering the buzzer on the door. It was kinda basic but all practical things that you need to know. At the end of it i sorted out my time slot and i’m starting my voluntary work this coming Thursday for two hours, and it will be every Thursday after that from 12 until 2 for 8 weeks. After the 8 weeks is up, i can stop volunteering, or if i want to i can do it for longer than the allotted 8 weeks. I’m really looking forward to starting. I think it will be great experience and i’ll be able to put it on my cv and also to get a reference once i’ve finished.

After i finished the training i had to rush off because i had an appointment with mark, our occupational therapist at 1:45 PM. That went really well. We’ve been working with mark over the phone, and today was the first time in months that we actually met up. I decided i wanted to meet him because i felt it would be better to do the work we had to do face to face. Today we looked at other voluntary positions that i might be able to apply for. I decided on applying to volunteer to work with the irish guide dogs. That organisation is close to my heart, since I had nitro. So we looked at their website and Mark read through the positions available. I decided i’d apply to do either fundraising administration or client services administration. The rest of the positions didn’t really suit me. There was puppy walking, gardening driving and maintenance, and regular fundraising. So we decided that i’d fill out the application, but instead of doing that i rang them when I got home. The receptionist told me to send her an email outlining what I was applying for and one of the team would get back to me.

Mark and I also worked on filling out an interest checklist. I had specified that I wanted to do some activities, leisure activities, such as joining the gym, doing singing lessons etc. We only got the first page of the interest list filled out today. And I never realised I had so many interests. What I really want to do is get fit, and singing lessons, and maybe something creative like art or creative writing. So mark said he’d contact the local gym, and price membership, and see what assistance they could give me. I also wanted to try tandem cycling since I’d done it years ago and really liked it. So i said I’d ring the national council for the blind, to see if they had any names of pilots who would help me to go out cycling as obviously I’d need someone to be my co-pilot. We didn’t work on the creative writing or art today because we said we had enough covered for one day. But mark is going to call the school of music about the singing lessons, i really hope i can do them. I love singing and i used to be in stage school for years and i know i’d really enjoy it.

So all in all it was a good appointment with mark, and we’re meeting again on the 18th of this month, but he’s going to phone me next week with any updates and if I have any i’ll call him. Things are really starting to look up and i am going to be busy over the next months so no time to dwell or be down, its all go go go.
Carol anne

